THE FIRST WEEK OF SCHOOL CHANGED ME

Well, we finished the first full week of Junior Kindergarten for Emily and we survived! We are now into the second week and I hope it is just as exciting and fun for Emily as the first week was. Sidenote: The first week of school for us was only 2 days, so our first FULL week of school would be everyone’s second week of school!

Here I was thinking this week was going to be so hard for me, I was going to miss Emily and she wouldn’t make it the whole week, but I was completely wrong. The week went by pretty fast and it was a good change from our regular daily routine. Emily did cry for the first three days, but Thursday and Friday she went into school with the biggest smile on her face.

The first week has completely changed my plans and my idea of what school would be like for Emily. At one point I was even considering keeping Emily home for the year of JK and she would then start a year later in SK. Here in Canada (from what I have read) junior and senior kindergarten are not mandatory, so kids technically don’t have to go, but are required to be in grade 1 by the age of 6. As much as I would have loved to have Emily home with me for another year, I wanted to make sure she experienced everything she could and wouldn’t miss out on that extra year of meeting new friends, socializing and learning in a new environment. I thought if she waited until SK to start school, chances are most of the kids in her class moved up from JK and had a whole year to make new friends. I didn’t want her to be going in to SK not knowing anyone while all the of the other children did.

Day 1 -Sept 6
Emily Sept 5th, 2017 – First Full Day of Junior Kindergarten

My original plan, after we determined Emily would start school in JK, was to keep her home Monday’s and Fridays. I thought the full week of school would be too much for her and since most of the learning is play based, it wouldn’t make a difference if she was in school or not for those days.

Boy was I wrong! And after this first week of school, it is safe to say, I don’t want Emily to miss a single day of school!

Emily has had the best week ever and even in that short amount of time, I feel like she has already learned so much! I look forward to taking her to school each day just so I can hear all about the fun she had that day and what they did. She has already made friends, even a best friend! She can say both of her teachers names and she has to give them a hug goodbye at the end of the day!

Day 3 - Sept 11
Emily starting her first full week of school! She wanted to share some of her favorite things!

It truly makes me so happy to have her in school and to know she is having such a great time when she is there. It was a little hard when she would say she wanted to stay with me and go home when it was time to line up for school, but I knew how much fun she would have during the day that I couldn’t let her leave with me. Emily would have little tears in her eyes and a sad face, but I knew they were just fake tears and her hesitation was from everything still being so new for her. As soon as one of her teachers mentioned an activity they would be doing that day, her face lit up and suddenly her tears turned into a laugh and she was ready to go in!

I have to give so much credit to Emily’s teachers and all of the teachers out there! They are really the ones who have made school so much fun for Emily and also for Dan and I. The first few days were hard for a few kids and they were always there to hold their hand and comfort them when going in to school. Emily gets so excited to see them in the morning and if she is wearing a pretty dress she tells me that she is going to show her teachers, which I think is the cutest thing ever!

Day 4 - Sept 12
Emily was a little sad on Tuesday. I had to capture her sad face because it is part of reality. 

Emily’s teachers are also using an online app which allows them to send us messages and pictures of Emily during the day and the various activities they do during the day. I had no idea apps like this were used in schools. I think it is such a great tool to have and as her teachers pointed out, it allows the parents to make a connection from school to home with their kids. If I asked Emily what she did at school, there’s a chance she wouldn’t remember, but if I am sent a picture of her playing with play-doh or drawing a picture, I can ask her questions about it and even show her the picture to spark her memory.

I have to admit that every time we were sent a picture, I just looked at it with the biggest smile on my face. At one point I think I almost cried happy tears because I was just so happy to see her having so much fun and just seeing Emily out there on her own made me realize how much she has grown. The app has helped a lot with the start of school and knowing that things are going well!

Day 5 - Sept 13
Emily was so excited to show her pretty dress! This was also taken before the tears when we got to school.

I know it has only been the first week, but this week has been such a great experience and I am so happy with how things are going so far. I was prepared to keep Emily home every Monday and Friday, but now I would feel so bad keeping her home and having her miss out on a full day of fun. I know that what she is doing at school is far more than what I could provide her here at home, so I am happy she is going to school everyday!

Day 6 - Sept 14
Emily loved her flower dress on Thursday! It was her first day of no tears before school!
Day 7 -Sept 15
This is actually Aunty Gaga’s dress from when she was a little girl. Emily was all smiles finishing off her first full week of school!

I am going to keep a little update each week of how school is going. My goal is to get the blog post up every Monday with a little recap of the week and how it went. I’ll share a variety of updates, from how Emily is doing, what I am doing to make things easier and anything else I think would be fun to share. I’ll also share Emily’s outfits from the entire week!

I hope you will check back every Monday! If you would like to be notified when a new blog post is up, be sure to sign up with your email! You can find the sign up in the right hand column of this page.

I hope everyone had a great first and second week of school!

1 thought on “THE FIRST WEEK OF SCHOOL CHANGED ME”

Leave a Reply

